Student Honoured for Their Excellence in Education



Minister of Youth, Sports and Culture, the Hon. Carl Bethel addresses the Examination and Assessment Division’s National Awards Ceremony on Friday, March 14, 2008 at Church of God Auditorium, Joe Farrington Road. Jenna Chaplin of St. Andrew’s High School is presented the overall award for the best BGCSE result in 2007. (Photo/Raymond A. Bethel)

Nassau, Bahamas – The Board of the Directors of the Bahamas Primary School Student of the Year Foundation and the Executive Board of the Nassau, Bahamas Pan-Hellenic Council are pleased to announce that a three month nation wide search was conducted to locate the BEST and BRIGHTEST primary school students in The Bahamas. At the conclusion of the search, 100 students have been nominated to represent their respective schools in the 12th annual Bahamas Primary School Student of the Year Awards Program. These students will be representing Abaco, Acklins, Andros, Berry Island, Bimini, Cat Island, Eleuthera, Exuma, Grand Bahama, Inagua, Long Island, New Providence and San Salvador.

In November 2007, The Foundation presented each primary school in New Providence, Grand Bahama and the Family Islands with an application package to nominate one student deserving of national recognition. One hundred primary schools accepted this golden opportunity to have their students recognized among the “Who’s Who in Primary Schools in The Bahamas”. Ricardo P. Deveaux, President & Chief Executive Officer of The Bahamas Primary School Student of the Year Foundation stated that “Each year, a select group of students are nominated to accept one of the most prestigious national recognition for primary school students in this country. This Awards Program, which is the premier program for primary students, is an excellent opportunity to recognize those students who have demonstrated excellent academic achievement, leadership ability, campus and community involvement and good citizenship.”

The competition which was established in 1997, is sponsored by The Bahamas Primary School Student of the Year Foundation in partnership with the Nassau, Bahamas Pan-Hellenic Council. The Program was founded to fill a void to salute our younger achievers, because it was felt that major emphasis were being placed on the achievements of high school students.

The 2008 nominees will vie for the title of National Primary School Student of the Year, with one overall winner to be announced on Saturday, May 17th, 2008 at The Bahamas Primary School Student of the Year Awards Ceremony. The 2008 Student of the Year winner and finalists will share more than $80,000.00 in scholarships and prizes.

An independent panel of distinguished judges, headed by His Excellency Dr. Davidson Hepburn – former United Nations Ambassador, will review the application packages submitted to determine the overall winner and finalists for the 2008 Bahamas Primary School Student of the Year Awards Program.

Since the inception of the Awards Program, over eight hundred students have been recognized and over $200,000.00 in scholarships and prizes awarded.

Photograph attached: Hon. Carl W. Bethel, M.P. – Minister of Education, Youth, Sports & Culture and Taran Carey – 2007 Bahamas Primary School Student of the Year (Graduate, Tarpum Bay Primary School)