Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Chapter Provides Scholarships to the Best & Brightest Females


Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc

Patron Allyson Maynard-Gibson, QC & Members of the Eta Psi Omega Chapter, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc. Photo Credit: Peter Campbell.

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc. – Under the distinguished patronage of the Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, Senator the Honourable Allyson Maynard-Gibson, QC, the Eta Psi Omega Chapter of the Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc., awarded six awards and scholarships during its 37th Annual Honours Day Programme. Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. is the first sorority for women of colour and was founded on the campus of Howard University in 1908. The Honour’s Day Programme, introduced in 1978, is the signature programme of the Eta Psi Omega Chapter, which has actively served the Bahamian community for 51 years and counting.

Thirty-four of the brightest female students from high schools throughout The Bahamas participated in a three-day weekend of activities including: a tours of the National Art Gallery and the College of the Bahamas, a welcome reception, career workshops, community service, a general knowledge and essay exam, courtesy calls on the Minister of Youth, Sports and Culture, the Hon. Daniel Johnson and the Minister for Social Services, the Hon. Melanie Griffin as well as the President of the College of the Bahamas, Dr. Rodney Smith.

The weekend culminated with an Awards ceremony on Sunday, April 29th at Government House with Ms. Aisha Bowe as the guest speaker. Ms. Aisha Bowe, is the first Bahamian woman to work at NASA, is an AeroSpace Engineer as well as the Co-Founder and CEO of STEMBoard. She reminded the ladies that “it doesn’t matter where you’ve come from, nor does it matter what limits are placed or spoken over you, if you work hard and really want it, you can achieve anything”. Her message was well received by the students and guests.

Mrs. Alana Major, President of the local Chapter, encouraged the students by stating that, “…Women are equally capable, equally talented and equally worthy to lead, and in a modern Bahamas we need women leaders more than ever.”

Nanditha Guruvaiah, of Queens College, won the Most Outstanding Honouree Award and received a $5,000 scholarship to be used at her college of choice.

Cecelia Cartwright of N.G.M. Major High School in Long Island won the Most Outstanding Family Island Student Award and received a scholarship of $2,500 payable to the college of her choice.

Ashley Thompson of St. John’s College, Nanditha Guruvaiah of Queens College and Daisha Smith of Sunland Baptist Academy in Grand Bahama, shared the Mathematics Award, after gaining perfect scores on that segment of the examination.

Walking away with the Essay Award was Katya Saunders of St. Andrews, Aaliyah Vilbrun of St. Paul’s in Grand Bahama won the Community Service Award and Arnisha Murphy took the Patron Award. All 34 students received a medal from Patron Allyson Maynard-Gibson, QC.

The theme “Launching New Dimensions of Leadership” was the brainchild of co-chairs for the Honours Day Committee Ms. Neutalya McDonald and Mrs. Ida Poitier-Turnquest. The co-chairs were particularly proud of the weekend’s events and extend their thanks to the schools, community, parents and businesses that supported the event.

Winners of the various Award categories. Picture: Front Row (L to R): Aaliyah Vilburn (St. Paul’s in Grand Bahama Community Service Award), Daisha Smith (Sunland Baptist Academy in Grand Bahama Mathematics Award), Cecelia Cartwright (N.G.M. Major High School in Long Island Most Outstanding Family Island Student Award), Nanditha Guruvaiah (Queen’s College, Most Outstanding Honouree Award), Katya Saunders (St. Andrews Essay Award), Ashley Thompson (St. John’s College Mathematics Award). Back Row (L to R): Ida Poitier (Co-chairperson), Alana Major (President, Eta Psi Omega Chapter), Aisha Bowe (Guest Speaker), Patron Allyson Maynard-Gibson, Neutalya McDonald (Co-chairperson) and Contanza Bourne (Vice President, Eta Psi Omega Chapter).
Most Outstanding Honouree Award Winner Picture (L to R): Mrs. Alana Major (President of Eta Psi Omega Chapter), Ms. Aisha Bowe (Guest Speaker), Nanditha Guruvaiah (Queens College) and Patron Allyson Maynard- Gibson. Photo Credit: Peter Campbell