Eighteen Bahamians Awarded Scholarships to Study in China


It was all smiles as Cabinet Ministers, senior Government officialsand stakeholders pose with the Bahamians who received scholarships to attend university in the People’s Republic of China. The scholarship award ceremony was held at the Melia Cable Beach Hotel on August 18, 2014.

Nassau, The Bahamas – The 2014 People’s Republic of China Scholarship Ceremony was held at the Melia Cable Beach Hotel on Monday, 18th August 2014.

In the largest scholarship cluster since the scholarship program’s inception and the establishment of diplomatic relations between the two countries in May 1997, sixteen Bahamians were awarded scholarships from the Government of China and two Bahamians were awarded scholarships from the Confucius Institute at the College of The Bahamas.

Joining 58 other Bahamians who have benefitted from this program over the last 17 years, the recipients will pursue both undergraduate and graduate studies in China in a wide variety of academic disciplines including Economics, Marine Engineering, Clinical Medicine, Genetics, Enterprise Management, Public Diplomacy, International Communication and Public Administration.

On hand to congratulate and encourage the recipients were Ms. Zhang Fangfang from the Chinese Embassy; Mr. Haldane Chase, Director of the Confucius Institute at the College of The Bahamas; H.E. Yuan Guisen, Chinese Ambassador to The Bahamas and the Hon. Fred Mitchell, Bahamas Minister of Foreign Affairs and Immigration who delivered the keynote address.

Mitchell noted that he was pleased that the students received this grand opportunity not only to receive a tertiary education, “but to be Ambassadors of our Nation, to share with the people of China the richness of our heritage, traditions and culture.”

Below is the list of scholarship recipients and their areas of study:



Ms. Teshar Johnson Economics

Mr. Duran Ching Marine Engineering

Mr. Jonathon Saunders Clinical Medicine

Mr. Tyrus Ambrose Clinical Medicine

Ms. Asiyiah Robinson Bio Medical Engineering


Ms. Janeen Braynen (2yrs) Genetics

Mr. Jamaal Bullard (2yrs) Enterprise Management

Ms. Angelika Hilerbrandt (1yr) Public Diplomacy

Ms. Thelma Rolle (1yr) Public Diplomacy

Ms. Jaimie Gibson (1yr) International Communication

Mr. Eric Rose (1yr) International Communication

Ms. Isheika Cleare (1yr) Public Administration

Ms. Rhonda Smith-Martin (1yr) Public Administration

Ms. Nekeishna Sutherland (1yr) Public Administration

Ms. Etosha Rahming (1yr) Public Administration

Ms. Gia Smith (1yr) Int’l Econ of Bus. Admin


Mr. Tray Rollins (6 months) Mandarin Languages

Ms. Gustave Williamson (2yrs) Environmental Science