Bahamian Medical Students Win 2017 CIBC FirstCaribbean Scholarship


Bahamian Medical student of the University of the West Indies, Yamir Smith receives her scholarship from CIBC FirstCaribbean’s Director of Corporate Communications Debra King.

Bahamian medical students Yamir Smith and Emma Tuletta, who are studying Psychology at the University of the West Indies, are among this year’s CIBC FirstCaribbean Scholarship winners.

Corporate donors to the University of the West Indies came in for high praise recently for their continued support of the university especially in “trying financial times”.

Chairman of the Campus Council at Cave Hill, Sir Paul Altman, noted that access to funding was critical for the success of students and therefore corporate donors to the university “should be commended for their support of students in trying financial times”.

Sir Paul’s comments came as he addressed the 14th annual Students Awards Ceremony at the Cave Hill campus recently. He said the university’s “faithful donor partners” had demonstrated an understanding of the importance of investing in the region’s most important resource – its people.

Among the donors singled out for its commitment to the campus was regional bank CIBC FirstCaribbean, the largest donor of undergraduate scholarships to the campus. Since 2003 the bank has donated 15 one-year scholarships annually valued at USD$2 500 each, across a number of disciplines.

His comments were echoed by Pro-Vice Chancellor and Principal of Cave Hill, Profession Eudine Barriteau, who also welcomed the private sector and non-governmental organizations’ continued support for the university.

Bahamian Medical student Emma Tuletta, who is pursuing studies in psychology at the University of the West Indies accepts her scholarship award from CIBC FirstCaribbean’s Director of Corporate Communications Debra King.

“The lifelines that the scholarships offer enable many students to achieve their goals, which in many cases could not have been realized otherwise. It is the generosity of our benefactors that makes our annual student awards ceremony possible,” the principal said.

The bank’s Director of Corporate Communications, Debra King, presented this year’s scholarships totaling US$37, 500 to 15 outstanding undergraduate students from Barbados, the islands of the Eastern Caribbean, Bahamas, Jamaica, and Trinidad and Tobago.

Other winners of the CIBC FirstCaribbean International Bank Scholarships for the academic year 2016/2017 are: Barbados; Joshua Webster (Medicine), Devon Deane (Computer Science), Dylan Quintyne (Physics) and Tia Morris (Banking and Finance), Jamaica; Morganne Kellier (Law), Alexidene Fraser (Law) and Samuel Bailey (Law), Grenada; Estelle Pysadee (Economics and Accounting), St. Lucia; Nadine Louis (Medicine), Dominica; Eudorra Bertrand (Microbiology), and Trinidad and Tobago; Sherraine Cunningham (Medicine), Allisia Williams (Law) and Kerneisha Skeete (Medicine).